National Registration Scheme for health practitioner starts

1 July 2010

The National Registration Scheme for health practitioners started on 1 July 2010. The scheme will mean that practitioners of the following ten professions will be registered nationally:

The new National Boards, supported by the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) are responsible for the registration of practitioners. Both the Agency and the Boards will also accept complaints about registered health practitioners.

Where the complaint concerns a practitioner in NSW, it will be forwarded to the NSW authorities to deal with. The co-regulatory complaint handling system in NSW will mean that complaints about health practitioners in NSW that are received by the National Boards, the National Agency or the NSW councils are notified to the Health Care Complaints Commission.

More information about the new National Registration Scheme can be found on the Commission’s website.